Fulfilling Work

Over my spring break, I went on a mission trip to a little unused clinic at the La Vida Mission School in New Mexico. I’ve been meaning to share this experience for a while but after coming back home, I got so bogged down with, uhm, life that I haven’t had a chance.

Except that now I’ve made a video/slide show of the trip. And I’d like to share it with you..!

(Okay, I made it primarily for a student mission trips debriefing meeting that I have to attend, but whatever.)

Here’s the quick version of the trip:

  • Woke up Sunday morning at 5:30 am, got to the school at 6, finally hit the road at 7
  • A billion stops later, arrived at La Vida School around 11:30 pm
  • Woke up Monday morning, walked over to the clinic at 8 am and helped set it up
  • Started seeing patients at 9 am, ate lunch somewhere around noon, and worked until about 6 pm
  • Went back to the house we were staying at and ate dinner
  • Taught others to play card games that they became ridiculously addicted to
  • Stayed up quite late at night playing said games
  • Went to bed, woke up the next morning and had a repeat of the previous day x2
  • On Thursday, we stopped the clinic at noon and packed it up until about 4 pm
  • Hit the road around 5 pm and arrived back in Loma Linda Friday morning at about 4 am

After all that driving, there was only a weekend left of the break and then back to school on Monday!  I haven’t truly recovered yet.

The trip had its ups and downs, but the big picture is what means the most to me: it was an opportunity to serve others. For me, one of the big draws of dentistry is that it’s fairly portable and you can make a tangible difference in others in a relatively short period of time.

I love that concept.

Leave a Reply

