The calm after the storm

National Board Dental Examination, part 1.

It’s over, complete, done, fin.

(Hallelujah!)

Now I get to wait three to four weeks for the results. As of right now, it doesn’t matter whether I passed or not. Right now, all I can feel is the victory, the freedom of putting it behind me.

Even if it’s only for three or four more weeks.

When it comes to tests in academia, I don’t really get nervous. Early on before an exam, I can get become quite jittery and stressed, feeling like I have this enormous weight on my shoulders. There’s always this continual feeling of guilt for doing something other than preparing for it. Funny thing is when it comes right down to it, I’m actually quite calm and nonchalant right before a test.

During the two weeks I spent studying for this exam, I was gung-ho the first week and was fairly good about sticking to my schedule. As for this last week, my usual laissez-faire attitude came into play and I found myself starting to hit the books in the late afternoon after goofing off all day. I told myself that the day before the test, yesterday on Sunday, that I would take it easy, do something fun, relax. I proceeded to follow my own advice until about 8 pm when an uncharacteristic nagging in my head told me to study just a wee little more. I immediately kicked myself into gear and very quickly and very lightly went over the notes I made from the past two weeks. When 10 pm rolled around, I also decided I should flip through my notes for general pathology since I hadn’t done so at all for months. Call me crazy, but I really did just flip through and stop to read a few key points here and there. (I know for a fact that I did it right because it helped me get a few more questions correct today.)

Because my sleeping schedule has been off lately, I found myself wide awake until about 1 am. As my head hit the pillow and I was starting to fade away, I recalled that I only would be getting about five, maybe five and a half hours of sleep at the point. It’s alright though because I amazingly didn’t become sleepy while taking the test. Okay, maybe the slightest hint was there, but only for a little while.

Anyway, does it matter at this point? It’s over!

So this post isn’t exactly going where I thought it was headed, but that’s okay. Right now, nothing else matters.

Except that my eyes have been opened and I can finally see how much our house is in disarray. And that it needs cleaning, dusting, vacuuming. And that I need to do some laundry.

You know, in retrospect, I do believe I went through a cleaning spat about this same time last year! Must be from all the release of stress after a full year of schooling.

2 thoughts on “The calm after the storm

  1. Yay! I’m glad that it’s over. You have always been a smartie, so I’m sure you did fabulously on your board exam. =)

Leave a Reply

