Creamy Rice and Haricot Vert Bake

I’ve been wanting something something hearty, with filling brown rice, creamy, to come piping hot out of the oven and into my bowl then mouth and feel satisfied and at home.

Hmm, a long run-on sentence.  I digress.

IMG_1535

My culinary creative juices have been flowing lately. I’ve actually been going out of my comfort zone to create recipes on a whim. This, I promise you, is a Very Big Deal for a heavy-handed “fact finder” like me. On the other hand, I’m also quite the “follow through” so, of course, I’ll see every kitchen creation through to the very end.

20131002-202844.jpg

I wanted to fill a traditional Pyrex 9×13 casserole dish. I can’t give exact measurements but at least writing down what I did is better than nothing at all.

  • Cook 1.5 c dry brown rice per directions
  • Fresh veggies used: 1 med onion, 3-4 cloves of garlic, 3-4 celery ribs, 1 generous c of chopped color bell peppers, 2 handfuls of french green beans then cut in half
  • Sautee the onion, garlic, and celery; then added green beans and cooked until partially done and still a bit crisp
  • Put the rice, sauteed vegetables, and bell peppers in a large bowl (the almost-cooked rice had extra water in it, I dumped this into the bowl as well)
  • Add the following to the mix: 1-1.5 c chopped nuts (pecan, walnut), several generous scoops of flax seed, 1-2 c of original Special K, approx 1/2 c of nutritional yeast
  • Also add to the mix: mushroom seasoning (salt replacement), thyme, sage, parsley, ground black pepper, McKay’s chicken broth (vegan), some olive oil, and a few healthy splashes of cooking wine
  • Lastly, stir in cashew cream (1 c raw cashews blended with water in a Vitamix)
  • Pour into casserole dish, cook covered with foil @ 400 deg F for 30 min
  • Pull off foil, sprinkle top with bread crumbs (I didn’t do this but it sounds like a great idea) and cook uncovered an additional 10-15 min @ 350 deg F
  • Let cool for a few minutes then top with fresh parsley when served

As I’m sitting here typing this up, I’m can smell the wonderful scent of everything baking in that casserole dish wafting through the house.  I feel almost transported, like an out-of-body experience to a fancy restaurant.

IMG_1533

Must be that cooking wine.

Leave a Reply

