Creamy Curried Greens and Chickpeas

Do you know what palak paneer is?  It’s an Indian curry dish consisting primarily of spinach and cheese.  SO GOOD.  But man, I never felt good after having it.  On the rare occasion I happen to have the pleasure of eating at an actual Indian restaurant (which is basically never in Montana), I give in and have a little…but always gastrointestinally regret it later.

While browsing Susan Voisin’s site, some time ago I ran across her recipe for creamy curried kale and chickpeas.  Reading through it more, I realized that the title was actually code for “vegan palak paneer.”  I had my doubts, but after making it, I was blown away: it’s a fantastic vegan version!

IMG_1715

IMG_1704

As you can see, I used spinach, not kale, in the photos above.  I’ve used all spinach before, all kale, or a combination of the two.  I tend to buy the huge containers of spinach from Costco and this recipe is a great way to get through it all before it spoils!  Whatever you choose to use for the greens, the flavor is still good and it’s always packed full of antioxidants and phytonutrients.

Enough talk – go make this recipe right away!

IMG_1716

Creamy Curried Kale and Chickpeas

Slightly adapted from Fat Free Vegan, serves 6 easily with another filling starch like brown rice

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon ginger root, minced/grated (OR 1 teaspoon powdered ginger)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds (OR 1 scant teaspoon of ground cumin)
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 8 cups chopped kale and/or spinach, packed
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 cup unsweetened soymilk or other non-dairy milk
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast, optional
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, drained
  • Salt to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Heat a large, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  (If cooking oil-free, place a small amount of water in the pan that doesn’t completely cover the bottom and keep a cup full of water nearby for adding more as needed.)  Add onion and cook until softened and beginning to brown, 4-5 minutes, adding small splashes of water if needed to prevent sticking.  Add the garlic, ginger, and cumin and cook for 1 minute.  Add the remaining spices and cook for another minute, stirring constantly to prevent burning.

Reduce heat to medium.  Stir in the kale and/or spinach and vegetable broth.  Cover and cook until the greens are bright and tender, about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While the greens are cooking, put the following in the blender and puree until smooth: milk, cashews, nutritional yeast, and tomato paste.  When the greens are done cooking, add them to the blender and blend until smooth or until the texture is to your liking.

Transfer the blended mixture back to the skillet and bring to a simmer.  Check seasonings and add more to taste.  Stir in the drained chickpeas and continue simmering for about 10 minutes.  Add salt to taste and serve over rice.

Recipe Notes:

  • I keep grated ginger on hand in the freezer.  What used to happen is that I’d buy more ginger than needed, grate and use a small portion, then completely forget about the rest of it until it’s withered and completely unrecognizable.  (On top of that, I despise grating ginger!)  Here’s my tip for you: buy a huge piece of ginger, grate it all at once, and freeze them in long and skinny pieces rolled in wax paper and stored in a freezer bag.  Now whenever I need a piece, I break off the approximate amount needed, quickly get it thawed, and/or throw in straight into the pan and start using it.
  • I hardly use vegetable broth these days.  I usually throw in the liquid amount called for using water instead and then add the amount of mushroom seasoning or powdered vegetable broth needed for that amount of liquid.
  • If you don’t have a fancy blender (i.e. Vitamix or Blendtec), get in the practice of always soaking your cashews for at least 6 hours before using them – overnight is better.  If you’re short on time, the best I can recommend is soaking them in boiling hot water for a long as you’re able.  It may take a while for the cashews to get smooth, but as long as they’re soaked enough, they will get smooth even when trying to blend them in a food processor.
  • I have so many cans of tomato paste (I keep buying them because I keep thinking I’ll use them!) but I find I tend to only need a tablespoon or two at a time.  Based on this, I’ve started to buy tubes of tomato paste (I can easily find them at Walmart) since it’s a lot easier to keep in the fridge.
  • Once I made this way ahead of time, which means the chickpeas were lightly simmering and warming in the pan for a lot longer than 10 minutes.  Because of this increased cooking time, the beans became soft and much more reminiscent of paneer in regards to texture!  If you have the time and you like the texture of paneer, I’d recommend this route and allow it to simmer/stay warm for 30 minutes before eating.
Leave a Reply

